‘Brush with Fashion’ at The Body Shop

The Body Shop have just launched a new brand of make-up called ‘Brush with Fashion’ and it claims to be cruelty-free make-up – which makes a happy change! This brand was created in collaboration with London College of Fashion, and it has a very hip/edgy feel to it, focusing in one the key make-up trends for Spring/Summer 2011.

Yesterday I attended the launch party of the brand with my ‘Love Your Body’ card (I recommend any Body Shop fans to sign up for one of these – you will not regret it!) and was invited to try out this new make-up and also indulge in some much needed cupcakes. The store on Princes Street was absolutely buzzing with people, and with a free Carbon Eye Definer worth £9 when 2 make-up products were bought, everyone was interested in the Body Shop’s make-up for once, not just their body butters!

87603m_lA very friendly sales assistant told me all about the new brand and said she was happy that customers were coming in for the make-up for a change! Although all the ‘Brush with Fashion’ range looked great, it was the Illuminating Face Base (£14) that caught my eye first. The lovely lady offered to try the product out on me, and used the base on one side of my face so that I could really see the difference, then finished me off. I have to say that the impact was astounding – my skin is usually very clear so there is no need for me to cover up with layers of foundation – but this base gave me such a summery glow that you would think I was back from the Caribbean. The first application of the product does feel quite thick and heavy on the skin, but the cream absorbs into your pores very quickly and leaves you looking very fresh. You could get away with wearing just this on a lazy day and it does wonders for your skin, what with its Fair Trade Marula Oil ingredients. The application couldn’t be easier – the face base comes with a brush and you twist the bottom of the tube so the cream spreads evenly over your face. The quirky design of the tube was a hit as well.

87593m_lAlong with that purchase, I also bought Tailored Cheek Tint (£10), which can be used on the cheeks and lips. This product is very clever as it adapts to your individual pH, so it can never look wrong. It comes with a little brush as well, but for even coverage you are probably best using either your fingers or a blusher brush to apply it. It is a clear gel, that changes to pink when it makes contact with your skin. It is quite similar to Bourjois’ Rose Exclusif (£6.99) lipgloss, but is the first cheek tint that I have ever seen produced this way.

So with my 20% discount, and my free eyeliner it was a visit well worth while. Unfortunately I couldn’t make today’s student day with 30% off for all students. But maybe next time, in fact, definitely next time.     

About jooleea

I am a second year student, studying Journalism at Edinburgh Napier University. I am very excited about the four years ahead of me and can't wait to sink my teeth into some fun journalistic experiences!

Leave a Reply

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Vin's Look Book

Fashion,style and beauty

The Amateur Baker

Tips, tricks and tales of woe in the kitchen

COCO//SUMMERS

FASHION PHOTOGRAPHER & STYLIST

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Rags not Riches

Looking Hot Doesn't Cost A Lot

Lace n Ruffles

Bringing Classy Back to Your Travel & Style

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

scoliosisspine

Just another WordPress.com site

So You Want to Work in Television?

The real stories behind the world of television production

Raindrops of Sapphire

A UK Personal Style & Life Blog.

Orla O'Muiri

Journalist & Videographer

