It’s Time to Kitsch Things Up!!

As a young teenager I was always lusting after unusual cartoonish jewellery. I liked bright colours, funky design and ‘Punky Pins’ was one of my all time favourite sites to find accessories that suited my style. The comic-style ‘Bang!’, ‘Kapow!’ necklaces looked great with my slightly urban style, baggy jeans, big trainers and vests.

Nowadays I am much more into vintage-inspired jewellery, be it cameo necklaces or delicate charm bracelets. I still like the weird and wonderful – but I much prefer the antique look. Strangely I also have a fetishwith animal jewellery and love Disney Couture. With the change in style I thought it would be an interesting idea to visit and review current jewellery websites and give my views on their layout, content and their merchandise. I will also choose my favourite three pieces from each website.

Firstly I would like to start with a website that I found through Twitter – Temporary Secretary. This website sells ‘Super Duper Cute Jewellery’ and some of the pieces are extremely unique and original. The initial layout of the website is very girlie, with a pink bow background, but easy to navigate your way around.  One of the key themes of the site, and one I love, is smiling and fun. This is made clear by their quirky teapot and cake jewellery – things that make you smile instantly. The website definitely has the cheer up factor. Another key feature to the site is that it will deliver worldwide. They also sell lucky dip bags: 5 items for £10 and 12 items for £20, great for stocking fillers, but they are a surprise so may not be exactly what you expect. The prices are reasonable and the designs are very creative. Three favs:

Firstly there is the ‘Welcome to Wonderland’ necklace which is so subtle yet so pretty that it can be worn with almost anything. The gold antique finish gives it a old fashioned feel, which definitely fits with the age of Alice in Wonderland. The necklace also stays with the Lewis Carroll original illustrations, rather than becoming too Disney cartoonish. This necklace is not new, it was created in 2008, but I think because of its original style it will be a favourite for all novelists. It costs £22 and the charms will vary.

 

These cute ‘Gingerbread Biscuit Studs’ take me back to my childhood in a flash. They are so adorable that they should be embraced into any girls jewellery collection. If the studs were slightly larger, or too much colour was involved then they would lose their appeal. But because of the perfect combination of style, texture and tone the earrings are not too loud but very imaginative. They are a little guilty pleasure and can be appreciated by all generations. Make sure you don’t accidentally eat them mind you! £6.  

 Lastly we have the ‘Filigree Floral Ring’ a feminine piece of art that reflects a Victorian theme and would look great with light lace and pearls. The flower is a perfect shade of pink and the texture of the gold ring feels very vintage. The ring itself is adjustable so it can be worn by anyone and the wearer would be the definition of class. $7.50.

The only negative comment I could make about the site is that their blog is a little neglected and only advertises their competitions. It would be great to see a little more description of products and advice on how to wear items. Apart from that the site is a winner. I have recommened it to friends and family and have added it to my favourites. I think you should too!

More reviews to come soon!

About jooleea

I am a second year student, studying Journalism at Edinburgh Napier University. I am very excited about the four years ahead of me and can't wait to sink my teeth into some fun journalistic experiences!

3 responses to “It’s Time to Kitsch Things Up!!

  1. Thank you so much for one of the best reviews we’ve read! So well written, and so very well researched. We really appreciate that – so thank you.

    We always say we’ll update our blog but then i get sidetracked. We didn’t always used to have competitions on there as you can see. Actually, I think almost each post starts or ends with “I must promise myself to update this blog more!” and I never do. D’oh!!! We *promise* this will change in 2011!

    We look forward to reading more of your blog – keep up the great work! Happy festive holidays! Lots of love, Sarah (Temporary:Secretary) xxxx

    • Well thank you for your comment Sarah.

      I really enjoy unusual jewellery and your website was a great find. I will definitely be buying from Temporary:Secretary in the near future!

      Merry Christmas and I look forward to reading your new-improved blog in 2010! Yay! x

      Julia x

  2. Hi Julia

    Just a quick message to let you know that our blog has been active and there been lots of posts since January – as promised! http://www.temporary-secretary.blogspot.com Hope you like it.

    Lots of love x

Leave a Reply

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Vin's Look Book

Fashion,style and beauty

The Amateur Baker

Tips, tricks and tales of woe in the kitchen

COCO//SUMMERS

FASHION PHOTOGRAPHER & STYLIST

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Rags not Riches

Looking Hot Doesn't Cost A Lot

Lace n Ruffles

Bringing Classy Back to Your Travel & Style

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

scoliosisspine

Just another WordPress.com site

So You Want to Work in Television?

The real stories behind the world of television production

Raindrops of Sapphire

A UK Personal Style & Life Blog.

Orla O'Muiri

Journalist & Videographer

