Social Media – Taking Over?

This Social Media module has really opened my eyes to how much of an  impact sites like Facebook, YouTube and Twitter have on every day life. Most people my age have to check their Facebook’s daily, and use Facebook as a source of entertainment, socializing and to keep up with events. But some people (Facebook-addicts) have to post up every event that happens during their day. It does make you wonder if there is such a thing as ‘keeping it personal’ anymore.

Obviously I know that journalists would find social media a great source of information, or a stimulus for a story, but isn’t it making the profession a lot more lazy? I remember watching old detective programs or films when I was younger and admiring the enthusiastic journalist at the scene of the crime, determined to find out more about the investigation, waving their little pen and paper around. Now it seems that most things can be done online. Interviews can be done online, sources can be found online. Is it just me being old-fashioned and such a technophobe or does it seem a bit sad that I won’t be getting much use out of the little journalistic notepad that my mum bought me for the course?

Every day there seems to be a story in the paper about social media. A woman using Facebook to keep her rapist in jail, a man being arrested on terrorist charges for joking that he would ‘blow the airport sky high!’, or an article on the new ‘Places’ app for Facebook on the iPhone. It really is everywhere. There is great reason to be involved with social media if you want to report a good story, to be up-to-date, and to cause interest.

It is not that I dislike social media, in fact I find it quite amazing how fast it has caught on, but I am just not one of those people who sit and go with the flow of change. I like to ask why things change. And if there is a great need to change. There are clearly benefits of having social media as a platform and a source. I know that some would say there is a great need for it, while others think it is taking over unnecessarily. I am definitely going to keep this topic alive by interviewing different people on their views on social media, so if anyone has any strong opinions I would be extremely grateful for your comment.

I am totally new to journalism, unlike most of you on the course, so I would love to hear what your opinions are on social media, or if it is something that you all have just accepted? I feel like such a loner, please help me.   

About jooleea

I am a second year student, studying Journalism at Edinburgh Napier University. I am very excited about the four years ahead of me and can't wait to sink my teeth into some fun journalistic experiences!

Leave a Reply

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Vin's Look Book

Fashion,style and beauty

The Amateur Baker

Tips, tricks and tales of woe in the kitchen

COCO//SUMMERS

FASHION PHOTOGRAPHER & STYLIST

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Rags not Riches

Looking Hot Doesn't Cost A Lot

Lace n Ruffles

Bringing Classy Back to Your Travel & Style

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

scoliosisspine

Just another WordPress.com site

So You Want to Work in Television?

The real stories behind the world of television production

Raindrops of Sapphire

A UK Personal Style & Life Blog.

Orla O'Muiri

Journalist & Videographer

